St Patrick's Parish Guildford
Design image

The Eastern Deanery

St Patrick's Parish Guildford is one of the 47 Parishes of the Catholic Diocese of Parramatta, and one of ten Parishes within the Diocese's Eastern Deanery.


The other nine Parishes within the Eastern Deanery are:


St Margaret Mary's, Merrylands


St Bernadette's Dundas Valley,


Holy Trinity, Granville,


Holy Family, Granville East, 


St Oliver's. Harris Park, 


St Monica's North Parramatta,


St Patrick's Cathedral Parramatta,


Holy Name of Mary, Rydalmere,


Sacred Heart, Westmead


Diocese of Parramatta & Holroyd Deanery

Established on 8 April, 1986, the Catholic Diocese of Parramatta is today home to more than 319,000 Catholics in one of the fastest growing areas of New South Wales, Australia.

A Suffragan Diocese of the Catholic Archdiocese of Sydney, the Catholic Diocese of Parramatta is west of Sydney and covers 4,289 square kilometres, reaching from Dundas Valley, west to Katoomba, south to Luddenham, and north to Wiseman's Ferry.

The Diocese is made up of 47 Parishes, each with an average number of 6,515 parishioners. In addition, 41,000 students attend one the 77 Catholic schools of the Diocese. The Diocese is also home to six congregational schools.

The first Bishop of Parramatta, Bishop Bede Heather, was installed on 19 May 1986. He was succeeded by Bishop Kevin Manning (1996-2010). Bishop Anthony Fisher OP succeeded as the third Bishop of Parramatta (2019-2014) On 5 May 2016, Bishop Vincent Long Van Nguyen OFM Conv was appointed the 4th Bishop of Parramatta in succession to Bishop Anthony Fisher OP following his appointment as Archbishop of Sydney in 2014.

Parramatta was chosen as the seat of the Diocese due to its role in the early European settlement of Australia, its size as a commercial and administrative centre, and its pivotal position in the communications that link the west with other parts of Sydney.

It is contemporary urban Australia in miniature. It has parishes as old as Parramatta and Windsor and burgeoning suburbs such as Stanhope Gardens and Rouse Hill.

The Diocese takes in seven local government divisions: The Hills, Blacktown City, City of the Blue Mountains, Hawkesbury Shire, Municipality of Holroyd, Parramatta City and Penrith City, as well as parts of Wollondilly and Liverpool.

As well as nurturing the spiritual lives of the hundreds of thousands of Catholics in its care, the Diocese supports thousands more in the local community. Its Catholic education system is committed to giving every student a quality education, while CatholicCare and its other agencies and ministries work alongside local people from all walks of life, as well as organisations committed to enhancing the way of life we enjoy in Western Sydney.


In September 2016 changes were made to the Deanery groups of the Diocese of Parramatta.

Listed below are the new Deanery Groups of the Parramatta Diocese.


1.     The Mountains Deanery

Blackheath, Emu Plains, Glenbrook, Lawson, Springwood, Upper Blue Mountains

Dean   Father Michael O’Callaghan


2.     The Western Deanery

Cranebrook, Glenmore Park, Kingswood, Mount Druitt, Mount Druitt South, Penrith, Richmond, Riverstone, St Clair, St Marys, Warragamba, Windsor

Dean   Father Andrew Fornal OP


3.     The Central Deanery

Blacktown, Doonside, Greystanes, Lalor Park, Marayong, Plumpton, Quakers Hill, Rooty Hill, Seven Hills, Toongabbie, Wentworthville

Dean   Father Paul Marshall



4.      The Eastern Deanery

Dundas Valley, Granville, Granville East, Guildford, Harris Park, Merrylands, North Parramatta, Parramatta, Rydalmere, Westmead

Dean   Father Bob Bossini



5.      The Northern Deanery

Baulkham Hills, Castle Hill, Glenwood-Stanhope Gardens, Kellyville, Kenthurst, North Rocks, Rouse Hill, Winston Hills

            Dean   Father Ian McGinnity


For news from around the Diocese of Parramatta, visit the News section of the Diocesan site. 


Receive our feeds

Did you know that you can receive automatic RSS updates from any page of this website the moment they are updated?